aefenglommung (aefenglommung) wrote,
aefenglommung
aefenglommung

UK Trip Shaping Up

Well, here's my itinerary for my "Missed Mountains" tour of northern England and Scotland in May.

Thursday, May 22: Depart Indy 2:00 p.m. Change planes in Philly.

Friday, May 23: Arrive Glasgow 9:00 a.m. Pick up rental car. Drive to Lake District. Pick up supplies (gas for stove, food, ice) along the way. Camp in Wasdale in Lake District National Park (awaiting confirmation of campsite).

Saturday, May 24: Climb Scafell Pike. Second night at Wasdale.

Sunday, May 25: Drive over Hard Knott Pass and out of Lake District to Hexham. Visit Hadrian's Wall (Vindolandia, etc.). Camp at Dilston Scout Camp (awaiting confirmation of campsite).

Monday, May 26: Drive down to York. Tour Jorvik medieval Viking site, York Minster, maybe Clifford Castle. Drive up to Durham, tour cathedral, pay respects to St. Cuthbert. Return to Dilston.

Tuesday, May 27: Head up the coast to Lindisfarne and Holy Island. Tour the ruins. Drive to Edinburgh, camp at Bonaly (confirmed).

Wednesday, May 28: Tour the Royal Mile, and scoot up to Ft. William in the Highlands. Camp at Glen Nevis (confirmed).

Thursday, May 29: Climb Ben Nevis. Tour Glen Nevis Distillery, if there's time (if not, hit the next day). Second Night at Glen Nevis. Do some laundry?

Friday, May 30: Tootle on down to Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park. Camp at Cashel Forest Camp (confirmed). From here, I'll just be a hop, skip, and a jump from Glasgow.

Saturday, May 31: Cruise on into Glasgow, hand in rental car. Depart Glasgow 2:45 p.m. Fly to Philly, change planes. Arrive Indy 10:32 p.m. Home by midnight, I hope.

(Sunday, June 1: Day off held in reserve in case airlines screw up my travel plans.)

Prayers for all the above details would be much appreciated. Thankee.
Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 2 comments